The Mediterranean diet, among the healthiest in the world

21/04/2021 0 comment blooness Categories Part 3: Mediterranean diet

Hello and welcome to the summary and introduction of the Mediterranean diet, which is one of the pillars of the Blooness Guide, the guide to the ideal diet.

The Mediterranean diet is correlated with good cardiovascular health, remarkable longevity, and good physical and mental health. As a result, it continues to fascinate dieticians and nutrition enthusiasts alike. In fact, the Mediterranean diet, along with the Okinawa diet, are considered the two best diets in the world today, by a large part of the scientific community.

For our part, we have tried to take the best of this diet, in order to enrich our guide, and to take advantage of all the virtues brought by this diet in the framework of an "ideal human diet". Indeed, empirically, it is possible to take and list the foods consumed in the Mediterranean regions, and which are known to be vectors of good health for the populations living or having lived in the areas bordering the Mediterranean, at a time when they were still spared from mass consumption and industrial products.

By making an inventory of the world's healthiest foods and integrating them into our daily lives, we are helping to improve our overall health. This is what we will try to do in this large part of the Blooness guide, the guide to the ideal human diet.

But just before drawing up this list, and dedicating a separate chapter to each major group of ingredients, we could not approach this major theme without introducing it properly. First of all, by defining what this diet consists of, how it differs from, but above all how it relates to, the low-carb diet, which is also one of the pillars of the guide, and by quickly recalling its virtues and its history.

Let's start with its virtues, because if this food has a good press, it is good to remember why.

What are the virtues of the Mediterranean diet?

Here are some of the benefits of a Mediterranean diet. "Quickly", because the benefits of a Mediterranean diet are not in doubt from a scientific point of view, and the web is full of information and new studies that point in this direction, and to list them exhaustively here would be too long.

1/ Decrease in overall mortality.

2/ Reduction of cardiovascular pathologies.

3/ Protection against high blood pressure: HPA is an excessive rise in pressure in the arteries, a rise that persists over time. It is the most common chronic disease in the world, and its consequences can be very serious.

4/ Increase in bone density and muscle mass.

5/ Prevention of depression.

6/ Improvement of fertility.

7/ Reduced risk of Alzheimer's.

8/ Reduced risk of metabolic syndrome: also known as "belly syndrome".

9/ Reduced risk of type 2 diabetes.

10/ Decrease in the risk of Parkinson's disease

11/ Reduction of obesity and weight loss

12/ Reducing the risk of gout

Moreover, according to the scientific data that continue to pour in, people with Mediterranean eating habits have less cancer, inflammatory diseases, overweight, metabolic syndromes, etc...

In fact, there is no one diet to follow that would objectively and safely achieve health goals with a promise of results. On the one hand, because there are several Mediterranean diets, and on the other hand, because the studies are based on observations.

However, on a practical level, the method used by various nutritionists is to imitate the traditional dietary practices of certain Mediterranean peoples in order to reap the health benefits.

The application of this diet has a clear objective, even if it is not guaranteed: it is toextend life expectancy by protecting oneself from cardiovascular diseases, the risk of cancer and other degenerative or metabolic diseases. In other words, it consists of providing the body with the food consumed in Mediterranean areas where, during the 20th century in particular, remarkable life expectancy has been observed, with a limited occurrence or even absence of certain diseases that are common elsewhere in developed societies, and all this despite a sometimes rudimentary health system.

 

Definition of the Mediterranean diet

Let's see what Wikipedia says:

The Mediterranean diet, also known as the Cretan diet or the Mediterranean diet, is a traditional dietary practice in several countries around the Mediterranean Sea characterised by the consumption of plenty of fruit, vegetables, legumes, whole grains, herbs and olive oil, moderate consumption of dairy products, eggs and wine, limited consumption of fish and low consumption of meat.

In other words, the Mediterranean diet gives pride of place to fruit, vegetables, legumes, wholegrain cereals and fats, particularly olive oil. It is a diet that could almost be described as "flexitarian", in the sense that a large part of its intake is made up of plant proteins, provided by the high consumption of legumes and whole grains.

The Mediterranean diet favours the consumption of vegetables, quality fats, mainly polyunsaturated, and whole grains. Conversely, red meat, sugar and industrial products, which form the basis of the modern Western diet (and not only), have a very limited place.

Source : Semsems

In addition to the nature of the food itself, the way in which it is grown, and therefore its quality, should also be noted. Thus, in the Blue Zones in general, and of course in the Mediterranean, food comes from local, seasonal agriculture, with traditional processes and relatively limited food processing . As a reminder, Blue Zones The Blue Zones are a concept that groups together areas of the world where life expectancy is well above the world average, and where "civilisation diseases" (diabetes, cancer, hypertension, thyroid, etc.) are rarer than elsewhere. We can consider that a large part of the Mediterranean is part of these Blue Zones.

Secondly, beyond diet, the researchers also described the Mediterranean lifestyle, which is similar to that of the Blue Zones. This lifestyle is characterised by frequent and moderate physical activity, exposure to the sun, attachment to the community and, more generally, a joie de vivre.

Finally, the Mediterranean diet is not a weight-loss diet, it is mainly oriented towards good health. However, one of the collateral consequences is precisely a loss of weight, in the long term, for people who are overweight.

The "Mediterranean diet" was inscribed on 16 November 2010 on the Representative List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity by UNESCO as a "set of skills, knowledge, practices and traditions".

 

The origin of the Mediterranean diet

It was once known as the "Cretan diet". It was made famous thanks to the work of two doctors and scientists: Serge Renaud, then Michel de Lorgeril, who conducted, with the help of other scientists, the famous Lyon Diet Heart Study.

This study tested the effectiveness of a Mediterranean diet on 600 patients who had survived a myocardial infarction over nearly four years. A control group followed the recommended nutritional advice to reduce cholesterol, and an experimental group followed a Mediterranean diet. The results were clear. There was a 50-70% reduction in the risk of heart attack in the experimental group, fewer cardiovascular complications (pulmonary embolism, stroke, etc.), fewer cancers and an improvement in life expectancy.

Other studies have since confirmed the hypothesis that the Mediterranean diet is beneficial for general health.

In terms of food alone, does this mean that we have to copy exactly the food that is eaten in these regions? What about quantities? How do we go about it? Things are actually not that simple, and we will clarify these important questions later. Before that, let's look at how the Mediterranean diet differs from the Low-Carb diet promoted in this guide, and what the link is between the two.

 

Mediterranean diet and low-carb lifestyle

As mentioned in the preamble, the Mediterranean diet has been recognised as one of the healthiest in the world. However, fat can make up to 40% of the macronutrient intake in this diet (contrary to those who still believe that fats are harmful to health), which is consistent with what has been stated in this guide so far.

However, a significant proportion, up to about 30% of calorie intake, sometimes more, can come from carbohydrates (which might surprise the most assiduous low-carb dieters).

This fairly even distribution of protein, carbohydrates and fat might disconcert many advocates of the keto or low-carb lifestyle. However, the subtlety of the Mediterranean diet is that it provides the body with a very good quality carbohydrate intake, unlike the carbohydrate-rich foods frequently consumed in modern societies since the 1960s.

As a result, this way of eating has much more in common with the low-carb diet than it seems. In both cases, the emphasis is on good fats and quality proteins, and all this at the expense of sugar and bad carbohydrates.

Although the Mediterranean diet is indeed richer in carbohydrates than the generally practised low-carb diet, it favours good quality, low to moderate glycaemic index carbohydrates and is consumed within the framework of a Mediterranean lifestyle, as described above, i.e. a lifestyle characterised by frequent and moderate physical activity and openness towards others.

In other words, the carbohydrates provided by the Mediterranean diet have nothing to do with those we are used to consuming in developed Western countries. Gone are the white rice, white pasta, industrial noodle soups and white burger buns. In the Mediterranean diet, preference is given to legumes, wholegrain cereals, or even fructose provided by some fruits. This type of carbohydrate, as we saw in the chapter on glycaemic indexes, does not disturb insulin, nor does it erode its effectiveness. On the contrary, they are released more slowly in the body and are much richer in protective nutrients than the "processed" carbohydrates as we know them.

Finally, Mediterranean populations used to work outdoors and be active, the exact opposite of the sedentary lifestyles that have developed with the tertiarisation of developed countries. Therefore, these low-GI, good quality carbohydrates can only be welcomed by the body, which in a way, to illustrate the point, burns them without any scruples. Where carbohydrates from refined and processed ingredients, consumed as part of a sedentary lifestyle, can only lead to overweight, uneven energy, mood swings and long-term health problems.

Therefore, once these reminders have been made, we can consider that the Mediterranean diet is in a way a low to moderate carbohydrate diet, and that it is characterised by a quality carbohydrate intake, which changes everything in terms of the way we approach carbohydrates and their energy impact on the body.

Moreover, it is not a question of "choosing" between the Mediterranean diet and the low-carb diet, but rather of bringing to the "raw" low-carb the best of the Mediterranean diet.

Indeed, there are different ways of eating low-carb. We can eat two hard-boiled eggs in the morning, chicken breast and a portion of lentils at lunchtime, toasted and salted almonds in the afternoon, and canned tuna with microwaved broccoli in the evening, without seasoning or spices. It's low-carb, but tasteless, deprived of healthful nutrients, and the antithesis of the Mediterranean diet. Moreover, it is not sustainable in the long term, because pleasure and the awakening of the senses are part of an ideal diet, and indispensable for health and mood. This is what the Mediterranean diet will provide, if only because of the quality and originality of its ingredients.

As for the question of how much carbohydrate to allocate in a Mediterranean diet where we don't want to gain weight - and this is a sensible question - it will depend in practice on your energy expenditure, your experience, your feelings, the season, the stress of the moment, and many other parameters. This is a technical and important subject to which we will return later.

In the meantime, let's start with the basics, and look in detail at the foods that are consumed in the different regions of the Mediterranean, grouping them into food families.

Summary of the Mediterranean diet guide

  • Vegetables in the Mediterranean diet
  • Spices, condiments and herbs in the Mediterranean diet
  • The issue of fruit in the Mediterranean diet
  • Pulses in the Mediterranean diet
  • Whole grains in the Mediterranean diet
  • Nuts in the Mediterranean diet
  • Good fats in the Mediterranean diet
  • Fish and seafood in the Mediterranean diet
  • White meat and dairy products in the Mediterranean diet
  • Red meat and sweets in the Mediterranean diet
  • Drinks in the Mediterranean diet
  • The Mediterranean lifestyle
  • The French paradox
  • Why and how the Mediterranean diet is good for your health
  • Weight loss on the Mediterranean diet
  • Carbohydrate intake in the Mediterranean diet
  • Conclusion on the Mediterranean diet

blooness

Get back on track and don't miss any new chapters in the guide by subscribing to the Blooness newsletter 🙌.

Le régime méditerranéen, parmi les plus sains au monde : définition, aliments, vertus, avis et résumé

04/07/2022 0 commentaire blooness Categories Partie 3 : l'alimentation méditerranéenne

Bonjour et bienvenue dans le sommaire et l’introduction de notre grande guide de l’alimentation méditerranéenne, qui constitue l’un des piliers du Guide Blooness, le guide dédié à l’alimentation idéale. Pour rappel, ce guide est une sorte de livre blanc, un condensé de ce qui existe actuellement sur la façon la plus optimale de s’alimenter dans un objectif de bonne santé et une ligne retrouvée.

Il repose sur plusieurs grands piliers, parmi lesquelles une alimentation basse à modérée en glucides, que nous avons déjà abordé en long et en travers dans la partie qui lui était dédiée via de nombreux chapitres, et ici sur le grand pilier de la diète méditerranéenne, l’une des façons de s’alimenter les plus saines au monde, et qui si elle est couplée à une alimentation contrôlée en glucides, sera une manière diablement efficace d’optimiser sa santé et son poids de forme. D’autres grands piliers seront également à venir, mais nous y reviendrons en temps voulu.

Dans cet article, vous allez apprendre en résumé ce qu’est le régime méditerranéen, ses vertus supposées et constatées sur la santé et les aliments qui la constituent. C’est une sorte d’introduction de ce que nous allons par la suite détailler, chapitre par chapitre, dans cette partie exclusivement dédiée à cette diète, et dont vous retrouverez le sommaire à la fin de cette page.

Pourquoi la diète méditerranéenne ?

La diète méditerranéenne est corrélée à une bonne santé cardiovasculaire, une longévité remarquable, et une bonne santé physique et mentale. De ce fait, elle continue de passionner diététiciens et amateurs de nutrition. D’ailleurs, l’alimentation méditerranéenne, avec la diète d’Okinawa, sont considérées à ce jour comme les deux meilleures diètes au monde, par une grande partie de la communauté scientifique.

De notre côté, nous avons tâché de prendre ce qu’il y avait de meilleur dans cette alimentation, afin d’enrichir le guide Blooness, et de la coupler dans un premier temps à l’alimentation modérée en glucides, qui constitue comme nous venons de l’évoquer la grande première partie de notre guide, et aussi par la suite à d’autres types d’alimentation qui viendront compléter notre guide.

L’idée d’intégrer la diète méditerranéenne est de profiter de toutes les vertus qu’elle peut apporter dans le cadre d’une “alimentation humaine idéale”. En effet, par empirisme, il est possible de reprendre et de lister les aliments consommés dans les régions méditerranéennes, et dont on sait qu’ils sont probablement des vecteurs de bonne santé pour les populations habitants ou ayant habités les zones qui bordent la Méditerranée, du temps où elles étaient encore épargnées par la consommation de masse et par les produits industriels.

En faisant ce travail d’inventaire de listing des aliments les plus sains au monde, et en les intégrant à notre quotidien, nous participons à améliorer notre santé générale. C’est ce que nous allons tenter de faire dans cette grande partie du guide Blooness.

Mais juste avant de dresser cette liste, et de dédier à chaque grand groupe d’ingrédient un chapitre à part entière, nous ne pouvions aborder ce grand thème sans l’introduire comme il se doit. Tout d’abord, en définissant en quoi consiste cette diète, quelle est la différence mais surtout le rapport avec l’alimentation low-carb qui constitue également l’un de piliers du guide, et en rappelant rapidement ses vertus et son histoire.

Commençons par ses vertus, car si cette alimentation a bonne presse, il est bon de rappeler pourquoi.

Quelles sont les vertus du régime méditerranéen ?

Voici rapidement quelques-uns des bienfaits constatés dans le cas d’une habitue alimentaire de type méditerranéen. “Rapidement”, car l’intérêt d’une alimentation méditerranéenne ne fait aucun doute sur le plan scientifique, et la toile regorge d’informations et de nouvelles études qui vont dans ce sens, et les dresser de façon exhaustive ici serait trop long.

1/ Diminution de la mortalité globale.

2/ Réduction des pathologies cardiovasculaires.

3/ Protection contre l’hypertension artérielle : l’HPA est une élévation trop importante de pression dans les artères, élévation qui persiste dans le temps. C’est la maladie chronique la plus fréquente dans le monde, et ses conséquences peuvent être très graves.

4/ Augmentation de la densité osseuse et de la masse musculaire.

5/ Prévention la dépression.

6/ Amélioration de la fertilité.

7/ Diminution du risque d’Alzheimer.

8/ Diminution du risque du syndrome métabolique : aussi appelé “syndrome de la bedaine”.

9/ Diminution du risque de diabète de type 2.

10/ Diminution du risque de la maladie de Parkinson

11/ Diminution de l’obésité et perte de poids

12/ Diminution du risque de goutte

En outre, d’après les données scientifiques qui continuent d’affluer dans ce sens, les personnes ayant des habitudes alimentaires méditerranéennes ont moins de cancers, de maladies inflammatoires, de surpoids, de syndromes métaboliques, etc…

Dans les faits, il n’y a pas une diète à suivre qui permettrait, de façon objective et sûre, d’atteindre des objectifs de santé avec une promesse de résultats. D’une part car il y a plusieurs alimentations méditerranéennes, et d’autre part car les études sont basées sur des observations.

Cela dit, sur le plan pratique, la méthode employée par divers médecins nutritionnistes consiste à imiter les pratiques alimentaires traditionnelles de certains peuples de la Méditerranée afin d’en récolter les bénéfices sur le plan de la santé.

L’application de ce régime a un objectif clair, même s’il n’est pas garanti : il s’agit d’allonger l’espérance de vie en se préservant des maladies cardiovasculaires, des risques de cancer et autres malades dégénératives ou métaboliques. En d’autres termes, cela consiste à fournir à l’organisme les aliments consommés dans les zones méditerranéennes où l’on a constaté, au cours du 20è siècle notamment, une espérance de vie remarquable, une apparition limitée voire une absence de certaines maladies pourtant fréquentes partout ailleurs dans les sociétés développées, et tout cela malgré un système de santé parfois rudimentaire.

 

Définition du régime méditerranéen

Voyons ce qu’en dit Wikipédia :

Le régime méditerranéen, également appelé régime crétois ou diète méditerranéenne est une pratique alimentaire traditionnelle de plusieurs pays autour de la mer Méditerranée caractérisée par la consommation en abondance de fruits, légumes, légumineuses, céréales complètes, herbes aromatiques et d’huile d’olive, une consommation modérée de produits laitiers, d’œufs et de vin, une consommation limitée de poisson et une consommation faible de viande.

Autrement dit, la diète méditerranéenne fait la part belle aux fruits, légumes, légumineuses, céréales complètes et graisses via l’huile d’olive notamment. C’est un régime qu’on pourrait quasiment qualifier de “flexitarien”, en ce sens qu’une grande partie de ses apports se fait via les protéines végétales, assurées par la consommation importante de légumineuses et de céréales complètes.

Le régime méditerranéen favorise la consommation de végétaux, de graisses de qualité principalement polyinsaturées et de céréales complètes. À l’inverse, la viande rouge, le sucre et les produits industriels, qui constituent le socle de l’alimentation occidentale moderne (et pas que) y ont une place très limitée.

Source : Semsems

Par ailleurs, outre la nature même des aliments, on notera également la manière de les cultiver, donc leur qualité. Ainsi, dans les Zones Bleues de manière générale, et bien sûr en Méditerranée, les aliments proviennent d’une agriculture locale, de saison, avec des procédés traditionnels et une transformation des aliments relativement limitée. Pour rappel, les Zones Bleues sont un concept regroupant des zones du monde où l’espérance de vie dépasse largement la moyenne mondiale, et où les “maladies de civilisation” (diabète, cancer, hypertension, maladies thyroïdiennes, etc…) sont plus rares qu’ailleurs. Nous pouvons considérer qu’une grande partie de la Méditerranée fait partie de ces Zones Bleues.

Ensuite, au-delà de l’alimentation, les chercheurs ont également décrit le style de vie méditerranéen, qui est celui des Zones Bleues. Ce style de vie se caractérise par une activité physique fréquente et modérée, une exposition au soleil, un attachement à la communauté, et de manière plus générale, une joie de vivre.

Enfin, la diète méditerranéenne n’est pas une diète de perte de poids, elle est majoritairement orientée vers une bonne santé. Toutefois, l’une des conséquences collatérales est justement une perte de masse grasse, sur le long terme, pour les personnes qui sont en surpoids.

La « diète méditerranéenne » a été inscrite le 16 novembre 2010 sur la liste représentative du Patrimoine Culturel Immatériel de l’Humanité par l’UNESCO comme un « ensemble de savoir-faire, connaissances, pratiques et traditions ».

 

À l’origine de la diète méditerranéenne

On la connaissant jadis sous le nom de “régime crétois”. Elle a été rendue célèbre grâce aux travaux de deux médecins et scientifiques : Serge Renaud, puis Michel de Lorgeril, qui menèrent, avec l’aide d’autres scientifiques, la fameuse Lyon Diet Heart Study.

Cette étude testa l’efficacité d’une diète méditerranéenne sur 600 patients ayant survécus à un infarctus du myocarde sur près de quatre ans. Un groupe témoin suivit les conseils nutritionnels préconisés afin de diminuer le cholestérol, et un groupe expérimental suivit une diète méditerranéenne. Le résultat fut sans appel.  Il y eut entre 50 et 70% de réduction du risque d’infarctus dans le groupe expérimental, moins de complications cardiovasculaires (embolie pulmonaire, AVC, etc…), moins de cancers et une amélioration de l’espérance de vie.

D’autres études ont depuis confirmé l’hypothèse selon laquelle la diète méditerranéenne serait bénéfique pour la santé générale.

Sur le plan de l’alimentation seule, est-ce que cela signifie qu’il faille, en ce qui nous concerne, copier exactement les aliments qui sont consommés dans ces régions ? Quid des quantités ? Comment s’y prendre ? Les choses ne sont en fait pas si simples, et nous éluciderons ces questions importantes un peu plus tard. Avant cela, voyons en quoi la diète méditerranéenne diffère de la diète Low-Carb vantée dans ce guide, et quel est le lien à faire entre les deux.

 

Régime méditerranéen et style de vie low-carb

Comme nous l’avons dit en préambule, le régime méditerranéen a été reconnu comme l’un des plus sains du monde. Or, les graisses peuvent constituer dans cette diète jusqu’à 40% de l’apport en macronutriments (contrairement à celles et ceux qui croient encore que les matières grasses sont nocives pour la santé), ce qui est cohérent avec ce qui a été énoncé dans ce guide jusqu’ici.

Toutefois, une partie non négligeable, jusqu’à environ 30% des apports caloriques, parfois plus, peuvent provenir des glucides (ce qui pourrait étonner la frange la plus assidue du régime low-carb).

Cette répartition assez équitable entre protéines, glucides et lipides pourrait décontenancer plus d’un défenseur du mode de vie céto ou low-carb. Toutefois, toute la subtilité du régime méditerranéen consiste à fournir à l’organisme un apport glucidique de très bonne qualité, contrairement aux aliments riches en glucides fréquemment consommés dans les sociétés modernes depuis les années 60.

De ce fait, cette façon de s’alimenter a bien plus de points communs avec la diète low-carb qu’il n’y paraît. Dans les deux cas, il s’agit de faire la part belle aux bonnes graisses, aux protéines de qualité, et le tout au détriment du sucre et des mauvais glucides.

Bien qu’effectivement, le régime méditerranéen soit plus riche en glucides que la diète low-carb généralement pratiquée, il privilégie des glucides à index glycémique bas à modéré, de bonne qualité, et consommé dans le cadre d’un style de vie méditerranéen, tel que nous l’avons décrit précédemment, à savoir un style de vie caractérisé par une activité physique fréquente et modérée, et une ouverture vers les autres.

En d’autres termes, les glucides apportés par l’alimentation méditerranéenne n’ont rien à voir avec ceux qu’on a l’habitude de consommer dans les pays développés occidentaux. Exit le riz blanc, les pates blanches ou encore les soupes de nouilles industrielles et autres pains blancs des burgers. Dans l’alimentation méditerranéenne, on privilégie les légumineuses, les céréales complètes, ou encore le fructose apporté par quelques fruits. Ce type de glucides, comme nous l’avons vu dans le chapitre des index glycémiques, ne perturbent que peu l’insuline, et n’entraînent pas une érosion de son efficacité. Ils sont au contraire libérés plus lentement dans l’organisme, et sont par ailleurs beaucoup plus riches en nutriments protecteurs que les glucides “transformés” tels qu’on les connait.

Enfin, les populations méditerranéennes avaient pour habitude de travailler en plein air, et d’être actif, à l’exacte opposée des modes de vie sédentaires qui se sont développés avec la tertiarisation des pays développés. Dès lors, ces glucides à IG bas et de bonne qualité, ne peuvent être que les bienvenus pour l’organisme, qui d’une certaine manière, pour illustrer la chose, les brûle sans aucun scrupule. Là où des glucides provenant d’ingrédients raffinés et transformés, consommés dans le cadre d’un style de vie sédentaire, ne peuvent entraîner que surpoids, énergie inégale, sautes d’humeur et problèmes de santé sur le long terme.

Dès lors, une fois qu’on a fait ces rappels, on peut considérer que l’alimentation méditerranéenne est en quelque sorte une alimentation dont l’apport en glucides estmodéré, et qu’elle se caractérise par un apport en glucides de qualité, ce qui change tout sur la manière d’aborder les glucides et leur impact énergétique sur l’organisme.

Par ailleurs, il ne s’agit pas de “choisir” entre l’alimentation méditerranéenne et l’alimentation low-carb, mais plutôt d’apporter au low-carb “brut” ce qu’il y a de meilleur dans l’alimentation méditerranéenne.

En effet, il y a différentes façon de consommer low-carb. Nous pouvons très bien manger deux œufs durs le matin, du blanc de poulet et une portion de lentilles le midi, des amandes grillées et salées l’après-midi, et du thon en conserve avec des brocolis cuits au micro-ondes le soir, sans assaisonnement ni épices. C’est low-carb, mais sans saveur, privé de nutriments intéressants pour la santé, et c’est aux antipodes de l’alimentation méditerranéenne. Par ailleurs, ça n’est pas tenable sur le long terme, car le plaisir et l’éveil des sens font partie d’une alimentation idéale, et sont indispensables pour la santé et pour l’humeur. Or, c’est ce que va apporter la diète méditerranéenne, ne serait-ce que par la qualité et l’originalité des ingrédients qui la caractérisent.

En ce qui concerne la question de la part allouée aux glucides, dans le cadre d’une alimentation méditerranéenne au cours de laquelle nous ne souhaiterions pas prendre de poids – et c’est une question sensée – cela dépendra en pratique de vos dépenses énergétiques, de votre expérience, de vos ressentis, de la saison en cours, du stress du moment, et de bien d’autres paramètres. C’est un sujet technique et important sur lequel nous reviendrons plus tard. D’ici là, le plus important reste d’ajuster selon vos dépenses énergétiques la part de glucides, en s’autorisant par exemple tous les 4 à 7 jours une journée peut-être plus chargée en glucides, si possible provenant de sources saines, donc toujours “méditérannéo-compatibles”.

En attendant d’aborder tous ces détails techniques, commençons par les bases : voici le sommaire par familles d’aliments de ce qui est consommé dans les différentes régions de la Méditerranée.

Sommaire du guide de l’alimentation méditerranéenne

  • Les légumes en diète méditerranéenne
  • Les épices, condiments et aromates en diète méditerranéenne
  • La question des fruits en diète méditerranéenne
  • Les légumineuses en diète méditerranéenne
  • Les céréales complètes en diète méditerranéenne
  • Les fruits à coque en diète méditerranéenne
  • Les bonnes graisses en diète méditerranéenne
  • Les poissons et fruits de mer en diète méditerranéenne
  • La viande blanche et les produits laitiers en diète méditerranéenne
  • Viande rouge et sucreries en diète méditerranéenne
  • Les boissons en diète méditerranéenne
  • Le style de vie méditerranéen
  • Le paradoxe français
  • Pourquoi et comment le régime méditerranéen est bon pour la santé
  • Perte de poids en diète méditerranéenne
  • L’apport en glucides en diète méditerranéenne
  • Conclusion sur le régime méditerranéen

Bref, tout un programme, que nous vous proposons de d’entamer par les légumes, car c’est probablement dans nos sociétés actuelles par là que le bât blesse.


blooness

Reprenez votre alimentation en main et ne manquez plus aucun nouveau chapitre du guide en vous abonnant à la newsletter Blooness 🙌